The four event Para-cycling World Cup season drew to a close on Sunday ©Twitter/UCI

Poland’s Anna Harkowaska claimed a narrow victory in the women’s C5 category to complete an unbeaten season as the final Para-cycling Road World Cup event of 2015 drew to a close in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa.

Harkowaska found herself under pressure from Germany’s Kerstin Brachtendorf throughout the duration of the 55 kilometre course but eventually finished two seconds clear of her rival after a sprint finish, with the Pole crossing the line in 1hour 33min 18sec.

The podium was completed by Canada’s Nicole Clermont, who had earned silver in Friday’s time trial event, as she ended 32sec behind the winner.

An American trio of Shawn Morelli, Allison Jones and Jamie Cardenas also completed their excellent seasons in style after recording victories in their respective classifications.

Morelli, competing in the C4 women’s road race, enjoyed a comfortable winning margin as she finished over five minutes ahead of her nearest rival Susan Powell of Australia by finishing in 1:34:07, while Jones won the C2 women’s race in a time of 1:20:03 with the Czech Republic’s Tereza Diepoldova ending 4:00 down.

Their compatriot Cardenas enjoyed a smaller winning margin as she crossed 1:24 ahead of Australia’s Simone Kennedy in the women’s C3 class after completing the 43km route in a time of 1:20:03.

Several exciting sprint finishes occured in Pietermaritzburg
Several exciting sprint finishes occured in Pietermaritzburg ©Twitter/UCI

Meanwhile in the men’s events Germany’s Michael Teuber secured his second gold of the weekend after he added to his time trial win by taking the C1 road race gold in 1:28:01, ending just seven seconds ahead of America’s Matthew Bigos.

Slovakia’s Jozef Metelka, another star of the World Cup season, also secured gold in Pietermaritzburg as he triumphed in a seven-man sprint finish in the C4 race.

Metelka crossed the line in a time of 1:53:35 at the end of the 73km course, with Australia’s Kyle Bridgwood and Russia’s Segey Pulov earning second and third after being awarded the same time as the winner.

Related stories
September 2015:
 Pieter du Preez leads South African domination at home Para-cycling Road World Cup
September 2015: South Africa claim two golds on opening day of home Para-cycling Road World Cup
July 2015: Australia win four golds as Para-cycling Road World Cup comes to an end
July 2015: Ustinov breaks 2015 gold medal duck at Para-cycling Road World Cup in Elzach
July 2015: US claim four time trial gold medals at Para-cycling Road World Cup in Elzach