Hockey Canada have revealed their men's team for the 2015 to 2016 season ©Bill Weppert/Hockey Canada

Canada have named a 20-strong squad for the upcoming 2015 to 2016 ice sledge hockey season, including 15 of those who helped the nation to silver at the International Paralympic Committee World Championships A-Pool event in Buffalo earlier this year.

The announcement follows a week-long selection camp, held at the Markin MacPhail Centre at WinSport's Canada Olympic Park in Calgary, with the players selected by head coach Ken Babey and assistant coaches Milan Dragicevic, Jean Labonté, Hervé Lord and Brandon Reid.

Senior manager of hockey operations and men’s national teams for Hockey Canada Shawn Bullock also had a say in the selection process.

“Our objective is to put the best players on the ice to be able to win gold at all of the competitions this year,” Babey said.

“With all of the players attending the development camp last month, everyone came to camp ready to battle for a position, and we feel we have built the best team for the upcoming year.

“These decisions are always hard to make, which is a great sign of the depth in our country.”

The Sochi 2014 Paralympic Games bronze medallists are due to compete in several international competitions this season, including the 2016 World Sledge Hockey Challenge from January 17 to 23 in Bridgewater.

Image title
Canada beat Norway to win bronze at the 2014 Paralympic Games in Sochi ©Getty Images

They suffered a 3-0 defeat at the hands of hosts the United States in the final of the IPC Ice Sledge Hockey World Championships A-Pool competition and the majority of that team have retained their spot on the squad.

Steve Arsenault, Kieron Block, Brad Bowden, Billy Bridges, Ben Delaney, Adam Dixon have all kept their places alongside Marc Dorion, James Gemmell, Dominic Larocque, and Tyler McGregor.

Bryan Sholomicki, Kevin Sorley, Corbin Watson, Greg Westlake and Derek Whitson will also represent their nation during the upcoming campaign.

Canada have included five debutants for the 2015-16 season, with Rob Armstrong, Tyrone Henry, Dominic Cozzolino, Liam Hickey and Mathieu Trudeau all named in the 20-man team.

The announcement of the men's squad follows the Canadian women’s team for the upcoming year being revealed, which includes 16 players.

Related stories
September 2015: 
Women’s Sledge Hockey of Canada announce 16-strong squad for 2015 to 2016
May 2015: United States claim Ice Sledge Hockey World Championships crown on home soil
May 2015: Italy claim best ever finish with fifth place at Ice Sledge Hockey World Championships
May 2015: Canada and United States set up IPC Sledge Hockey World Championships final showdown
April 2015: Germany and Italy to battle for fifth-place in IPC Sledge Hockey World Championships A-Pool