The Netherlands’ reigning world and European champion Kenny van Weeghel claimed victory in the men’s 200 metres T54 on the final day of competition at the IPC Athletics Grand Prix in Dubai ©Getty Images

The Netherlands' reigning world and European champion Kenny van Weeghel showed he is still the man to beat this year by claiming victory in the men’s 200 metres T54 on the final day of competition at the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletics Grand Prix in Dubai.

Van Weeghel clocked a winning time of 25.13 sec - the fastest of three finals - as Russia’s Alexey Bychenok took second in 25.40 and Swiss racer Marcel Hug finished third in 25.51.

Hug’s countryman Beat Bosch notched up another win at the Dubai Police Officers Club track as he finished first in the 200m T51/52 in 33.82.

It was a similar story for Frenchman Pierre Fairbank who was the fastest of the two 200m T53 finals in 26.94, having won the 100m and 800m T53 earlier in the competition.

Kuwait’s world record holder Ahmad Almutairi finished over 0.5 seconds clear of the field in the men’s 200m T33 with a time of 33.62 and Dutchman Stefan Rusch won the 200m T34 in 31.31.

In the women’s sprints, Switzerland’s Catherine Debrunner rounded off her Grand Prix campaign with yet another win, this time in the 200m T53 in 31.69.

Australia’s Rosemary Little also capped off an impressive overall performance in style by winning the 200m T34 in 33.91, as did The Netherlands' Margriet van den Broek, who triumphed in the 200m T54 in 30.48.  

World silver medallist Abdellatif Baka of Algeria crossed the line over two seconds clear of the field to win the men’s 800m T11/13 in 1:55.30, with Moroccans Abdelillah Mame and Youssef Benibrahim coming second and third respectively.

Algeria also came out in top in the men’s 800m T36/37 as world 1,500m T37 bronze medallist Madjid Djemal clocked 2:05.12 to finish ahead of Great Britain’s 800m T36 world champion Paul Blake.

Switzerland’s Catherine Debrunner won the women's 200m T53
Switzerland’s Catherine Debrunner won the women's 200m T53 ©Getty Images

There was a one-two finish for Turkey in the men’s 800m T12 as Nesim Oner Mehmet registered a time of 1:58.22 to take the tape ahead of Oguz Akbulut.

The women’s 800m T11/12 was won by Mexico’s Daniela Velasco Maldonado in 2:20.32, while Kuwait’s Ali Taher won the 800m T20/38 in 2:36.12 and Uzbekistan’s Murodulloev Marufjon won the 800m T46/47 in 2:04.78.

In the relay events, Russia won the men’s 4x400m T53/54 in 3:16.67 and Turkey clocked an unrivalled 54.43 in the men’s 4x100m T42-47.

Out in the field, Cameroon’s Christian Gobe added 1.38m on to his own African record as he won the men’s shot put F55 with a throw of 10.78m, eight centimetres further than Greece's Ilias Nalmpantis in second place.

Russia’s Galina Lipatnikova smashed the European record as she won the women’s discus throw F11-12/36-38 with a third round effort of 23.57m.

Her compatriot Elena Gorlova also set a new European mark, winning the discus F51/52/53/54 with 10.92m.

Britain’s F41 thrower Holly Neill added 10cm on to the European record in the women’s discus F40/41 as she finished second with a throw of 23.76m behind Iran’s F40 thrower Zhila Yousefi, who managed 16.07m.

Algeria’s Paralympic and world champion Nassima Saifi continues to reign supreme in the women’s discus F57 with the 27-year-old throwing 31.21m to take the win as Ireland’s world bronze medallist Orla Barry finished second with 29.94m.

Greece’s Anthi Liagkou won the women’s discus F32/33 with her second round throw of 10.52m, while Britain’s world silver medallist Kyron Duke dominated the field in the men’s shot put F40/41 - recording two marks of 11.99m to seal the win.

Image title
Germany's Daniel Scheil threw 25.64m to win the javelin F33 ©Getty Images

Victory in the shot put F42 went to Frenchman Badr Touzi with a best of 12.86m.

Iran’s Abdolnabi Navaser won the shot put F44 with a throw of 13.09m, while his compatriot Alireza Ghaleh Nasseri finished first in the shot put F56 with 10.04m, and India’s Virender took gold in the shot put F57 with 14.18m.

Daniel Scheil got the better of Algeria’s Kamel Kardjena as the German world record holder threw 25.64m to win the javelin F33.

Columbia’s world silver medallist Mauricio Valencia was the only man to pass the 30m mark as he won the javelin F34 with a best of 32.80m.

A final round throw of 13.84m gave Iran’s Hossein Khorsandamiri the win in the women’s javelin F52/53.

German Martina Willing won the discus F55/56 with 20.55m, while her compatriot Frances Herrmann won the discus F34 with 19.10m and Japan’s Yukiko Kato won the discus F42/44/46 with 32.58m.

Sweden’s world and European champion Per Jonsson leapt 6.80m to take the win in the men’s long jump T11/12 and Bulgaria’s Radoslav Zlatanov won the T13 event with a final jump of 6.55m.

Just 4cm separated first and second in the men’s long jump T20 as Saudi Arabia’s Assad Sharaheli sealed the win with a best of 6.54m ahead of Dutchman Ranki Oberoi.

The IPC Athletics Grand Prix series is due to continue in Tunisia’s capital Tunis from March 24 to 26.