Ten teams will compete in the qualifier in Sri Lanka ©ICC

Ten teams will be in action at the International Cricket Council (ICC) Women's World Cup Qualifier which begins in Sri Lanka tomorrow.

Four spaces at the World Cup - to be held in England this year - are up for grabs at the tournament, with group play beginning the action.

Hosts Sri Lanka have been drawn with India, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Thailand in Group A, with South Africa, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Scotland and Papua New Guinea contesting Group B.

The top three sides from each group will advance to the Super Six phase, from which the top four will qualify for the World Cup.

A final will still be played at Colombo's P.Sara Stadium on February 21 to decide the winner of the qualification tournament.

Three other grounds will be used in the capital city, the Mercantile Cricket Association ground, the Nondescripts Cricket Club and Colombo Cricket Club (CCC).

Sri Lanka will open against regional rivals India at the P.Sara Stadium tomorrow, with Ireland playing Zimbabwe at Mercantile.

South Africa will begin on day one against Pakistan at Nondescripts, with Bangladesh colliding with Papua New Guinea at the CCC.

Day two will see Pakistan play Bangladesh, Scotland meet South Africa, Sri Lanka play Ireland and India meet Thailand.

Sri Lanka will host the competition in Colombo ©Getty Images
Sri Lanka will host the competition in Colombo ©Getty Images

India will be among the favourites with their captain, Mithali Raj, saying: "We’ve got a few injuries in the side. 

"This also gives an opportunity for the young talent in our side, who’ve just come in for the qualifiers, to see how they progress. 

"We definitely are looking forward for the matches."

Zimbabwe captain Sharne Mayers added: "This tournament is very big for us. 

"We have to do well and put Zimbabwe women’s cricket back on the map. 

"We do well and more women’s cricket will be played back home. 

"Thanks to Sri Lanka for hosting us. 

"It’s always nice to come to this beautiful country."

Australia, England, New Zealand and the West Indies have already qualified for the World Cup, scheduled to begin in England on June 26.

The final is due to be played at London's famous Lord's ground on July 23.