The ICC have confirmed the prize structure for the Women's World Cup ©ICC

The winners of this year's International Cricket Council (ICC) Women's World Cup will receive a record total of $660,000 (£518,000/€592,000), the governing body has announced after they unveiled the prize structure for the tournament.

Back in May, the ICC announced the overall prize fund for the competition in England, which runs from Saturday (June 24) to July 23, would be $2 million (£1.6 million/€1.8 million).

This represents a ten-fold increase on the previous edition of the tournament, held in India in 2013.

Runners-up stand to receive $330,000 (£259,000/€296,000), while the losing semi-finalists will pocket $165,000 (£130,000/€148,000).

Teams that exit the eight-nation World Cup at the group stage will be given $30,000 (£24,000/€27,000) and countries will secure $20,000 (£16,000/€18,000) for each win in the group stage.

Hosts England, Australia, South Africa, India, the West Indies, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Pakistan are the teams due to compete in the tournament.

Sarah Taylor helped England record a comfortable warm-up win over Sri Lanka ©ICC
Sarah Taylor helped England record a comfortable warm-up win over Sri Lanka ©ICC

New Zealand take on Sri Lanka in the opening match of the competition at the Bristol County Ground on Saturday, before the host nation get their campaign underway against India at the County Ground in Derby.

Warm-up matches began today as England beat Sri Lanka by eight wickets at Queen's Park in Chesterfield.

England bowled Sri Lanka out for 155 and knocked off the required runs inside 31 overs, with Sarah Taylor top scoring on 49 not out.

In the other warm-up contest to take place today, New Zealand overcame India by seven wickets in Derby.

New Zealand skittled India for 130 and then set about pursuing their target, which they achieved with ease as Rachel Priest's 52 helped guide them to a comfortable win.