Japan were one of three countries to book their World Cup place ©FIBA

Four countries qualified for the 2018 International Basketball Federation (FIBA) Women's World Cup in Spain after winning their Asia Cup quarter-finals in Bangalore today.

Australia, South Korea, China and Japan all booked their place at the flagship event while keeping alive their hopes of continental glory.

Only the top four finishers at the tournament in the Indian city can earn a World Cup place, adding extra importance to today's last eight ties at the Kanteerava Indoor Stadium.

Japan, the defending Asian champions, proved too strong for Chinese Taipei as they recorded a 73-57 win.

The Taiwanese did lead 15-13 after the first quarter but the Japanese took control thereafter.

Moeko Nagaoka was the top performer for the victors, helping herself to 28 points, a pair of rebounds and a block.

Australia eased through their match as they beat North Korea 81-48.

South Korea went through after beating New Zealand ©FIBA
South Korea went through after beating New Zealand ©FIBA

Alanna Smith's 20 points and nine rebounds assisted the Australians as Suk Yong Ro's 22 points for her side were in vain.

China's passage was similarly comfortable with The Philippines thrashed 117-43.

The result was never in doubt after the Chinese opened up a 33-13 lead after the first quarter, and they restricted their opponents to just two points in the second.

South Korea booked their spot by beating New Zealand 64-49.

Jisu Park led the way for the Koreans with 19 points.

Tomorrow's semi-finals will see China face Japan and South Korea meet Australia.

The final will be played the following day.