The IHF have announced the qualification system for Tokyo 2020 ©IHF

A qualification system for men and women's competitions at Tokyo 2020 has been unveiled by the International Handball Federation.

They will determine the composition of two 12-team tournaments taking place in the Japanese capital from July 24 until August 9.

The first slots will be filled by the winners of next year's Men's World Championships in Germany/Denmark and the Women's World Championships in Japan.

Four more spaces in each event will then be determined at different Continental Qualification events for Europe, Asia, Africa and the Pan Americas.

The winner in each event will secure a berth, with the spots for the Americas qualifier to be held as part of next year's Pan American Games in Lima.

If either Japan - who qualify a spot in both events in Tokyo by virtue of being the host nation - or the world champions win the continental events, the second-placed team will be chosen instead.

Denmark will be seeking a successful title defence at Tokyo 2020 ©Getty Images
Denmark will be seeking a successful title defence at Tokyo 2020 ©Getty Images

Twelve teams will then battle for the remaining six places at Men's and Women's Olympic Qualification Tournaments.

These 12 teams will be made up by the six highest from the World Championships not already qualified.

The remaining six teams will consist of the two from the best ranked continent at the respective 2019 World Championship, two from the second-best continent and one each from the third and fourth best continent.

The 12 will be split across three four-team tournaments.

All of these will take place in March and April, 2020.

Locations have not yet been determined. 

Denmark's men and Russia's women claimed handball titles at Rio 2016.