Grant Mizens has joined Paralympics Australia's Board ©Getty Images

Beijing 2008 wheelchair basketball gold medallist Grant Mizens is one of three new appointments to the Paralympics Australia Board of Directors.

Tim Carmody and Rebecca Frizelle will also join the Paralympics Australia Board as it expands to nine members.

Their appointments were confirmed by Paralympics Australia President Jock O’Callaghan.

"We are delighted to welcome new directors of such outstanding calibre," O’Callaghan said.

"They are joining a passionate and committed Board all striving to improve Para-sport in Australia in close collaboration with our staff and Paralympics Australia’s partners.

“While the challenges facing our organisation and our industry are significant, it is a time of immense opportunity for the Paralympic movement and I’m excited to see what we can achieve together.

"In response to COVID-19 and the postponement of Tokyo 2020, Paralympics Australia has undertaken significant change in recent weeks as we continue our work to safeguard our organisational and financial sustainability," O’Callaghan said.

"The appointment of our new Board of Directors will bolster our ability to develop Para-sport at all levels and strengthen Australia’s proud Paralympic history with Tokyo 2020, Beijing 2022 and Paris 2024 on the horizon.

"Together with our existing directors and their wealth of experience and expertise, we are extremely well-positioned to keep driving our movement forward."

Mizens represented the Australian men’s wheelchair rugby team 150 times during his career, forming part of their most successful era.

He was part of the team that won gold at Beijing 2008, as well as silver at both the Athens 2004 and London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Mizens was a member of the World Championship winning team in 2010.

Grant Mizens won three medals at the Paralympic Games during his career ©Getty Images
Grant Mizens won three medals at the Paralympic Games during his career ©Getty Images

He has since developed a coaching career, as well as becoming a public speaker and disability advocate on top of his profession in financial asset management.

Carmody served as Chief Justice of the Queensland Supreme Court between July 2014 and 2015, before serving as a Justice of the Supreme Court until his retirement in 2019.

He has previously served as a police officer, barrister, Queensland Crime Commissioner, Family Court of Australia judge and Chief Magistrate of the Magistrates Court of Queensland.

Frizelle is the chief operating officer of Frizelle Sunshine Prestige - an arm of one of Australia's leading automotive groups – and has directorships in the automotive, education and philanthropic sectors.

She is also a co-owner of the Gold Coast Titans rugby league team and previously served as chair.

It made her the first female chair of a National Rugby League club in history.

Paralympics Australia say the appointments will provide unique and important skills to the Board at a pivotal time in the organisation’s history.

Mizens, Carmody and Frizelle join O’Callaghan, vice-presidents Helen Nott and Annabelle Williams and fellow directors Lachlan Harris, John Hartigan, and Rosie King on the Board.