Iaroslav Pashkov has added a junior speed world title to the youth A crown he won two years ago ©IFSC/Syste van Slooten

Iaroslav Pashkov clinched gold at a second successive International Federation of Sport Climbing (IFSC) Youth World Championships by winning the men’s junior speed event in Voronezh.

The Russian climber triumphed two years ago in Italian venue Arco in the men’s youth A event, featuring participants aged from 16 to 18.

Pashkov improved throughout today’s junior competition for climbers aged between 18 and 20 in south-west Russia.

He recorded times of 6.29sec and 6.05 to negotiate the opening two rounds and reach the semi-finals.

A time of 5.99 proved enough to beat Austria’s Lawrence Bogeschdorfer in the last four, with fellow Russian Danila Ukolov clocking 5.92 to overcome Italy’s Jacopo Stefani.

The final proved a close contest with Pashkov prevailing in a winning time of 5.80, with Ukolov just 0.09sec behind.

Bogeschdorfer claimed the final podium spot by beating Stefani in the small final, clocking 6.00 to his rival’s 6.03.

The women’s junior speed competition saw Germany’s Franziska Ritter emerge as the winner.

Ritter benefited from a fall by France’s Capucine Viglione to progress to the final to face Italy’s Giulia Randi, who was a victor against Iran’s Mahya Darabian.

The German climber claimed gold after finishing the final in 7.73, with Randi failing to clock a time as the runner-up.

Viglione won the small final in a time of 7.67 to win bronze, while Darabian ended fourth in 7.98.

The youth A women’s final also proved to be a contest between Italian and German climbers.

Italy’s Beatrice Colli secured gold by winning in 7.92, with Germany’s Nuria Brockfeld second on 9.19.

The United States' Callie Close won bronze by finishing the small final in 8.42, with Italy’s Sofia Bellesini fourth in 8.58.

Maksim Ryzhov succeeded Pashkov as the men’s youth A champion, with the Russian climber winning gold in 6.01.

Ukraine’s Hryhorii Ilchyshyn settled for second place in 6.90.

The small final saw Italy’s Marco Bontini triumph in 6.27 to claim bronze, with France’s Marius Payet Gaboriaud fourth in 6.52.