Russia defeated Turkey by one goal to take the European title ©Ryol Chikawa/IBSA

Lithuania and Russia claimed the gold medals in men's and women's competition as the International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA) Goalball European A Championships in Samsun came to a close today.

A late comeback from hosts Turkey was not enough to stop Russia from taking the women's gold medal, winning by a score of 5-4.

Sevda Altinoluk was the star for Turkey, scoring three of their four goals, including the opener in the final.

This was almost immediately pegged back, as Irina Arestova made it 1-1 just 15 seconds later.

Arestova scored all five goals and gave her side a 3-2 lead at half-time.

Russia created a two-goal cushion, meaning a late goal from Fatmagul Guler would not cause the leaders any issues as they held on by one.

Israel took the bronze medal in straightforward fashion by thumping Denmark 10-0.

Lihi Ben David scored five and the other five came from Or Mizrahi.

Lithuania came from two down to win the men's gold medal ©Ryol Chikawa/IBSA
Lithuania came from two down to win the men's gold medal ©Ryol Chikawa/IBSA

Lithuania came from two goals down to defeat Ukraine 6-3 having put in a strong second half, claiming the men's gold.

Rodion Zhyhalin got Ukraine off to a great start with a back-to-back double, but the Lithuanians drew level by half-time thanks to goals from Justas Pazarauskas and Nerijus Montvydas.

Arturas Brazauskis put them ahead for the first time in the match, but Zhyhalin completed his hat-trick less than a minute later to level the scoring again.

From there, it was all Lithuania, as Pazarauskas completed his hat-trick and Brazauskis got his second.

For the bronze medal, hosts Turkey pulled away from Germany to win by a 7-2 scoreline.

Ebubekir Kara scored an early double, but Michael Dennis pulled it back to 2-1.

Tuncay Karakaya reinstated the two-goal cushion before Oliver Hörauf scored Germany's last at the end of the first-half.

Turkey scored another four in the second, with Karakaya scoring a second, Kara taking his total to four and Huseyin Alkan getting on the scoresheet.