The Australian men's and women's teams celebrating their Rugby League World Cup wins ©Getty Images

Australia had a stellar day in Manchester, winning both the men's and women's Rugby League World Cup trophies with convincing victories over New Zealand and Samoa, respectively.

Following England's victory in the wheelchair rugby league final yesterday, Australia had two more opportunities to win silverware.

The women's final was the clearest of the two, with Australia thrashing regional rivals New Zealand 54-4.

Jessica Sergis, Isabelle Kelly and Kennedy Cherrington all scored two tries each for the victors, with Lauren Brown scoring five goals and Ali Brigginshaw getting the other two.

Sergis and Kelly got early tries in the first-half, with Julia Robinson adding, followed by another from Kelly.

Emma Tonegato, Tarryn Aitken and Sergis scored their own tries in the first 20 minutes of the second-half, with the Kiwi Ferns finally getting on the scoresheet in the 64th minute thanks to Madison Bartlett, although Raecene McGregor could not score the additional points.

Cherrington bagged a double late on, with Evania Pelite scoring the final try of the game to make it a resounding win for the Jillaroos.

Latrell Mitchell celebrating Australia winning the Rugby League World Cup ©Getty Images
Latrell Mitchell celebrating Australia winning the Rugby League World Cup ©Getty Images

Having to match the women's win, the Australian men prevailed against a plucky Samoa, with the score ending 30-10.

A defensive display was the difference between the sides, but Australia got off to a good start thanks to a Latrell Mitchell try after 13 minutes, and another added by James Tedesco four minutes later.

Following the Tedesco try, Nathan Cleary scored a goal too.

Liam Martin made it three tries without response prior to half-time.

Angus Crichton's 10-minute sin bin gave Samoa a chance to get a way back into the match with the score at 14-0, but the Australians were impressively resilient.

Cameron Murray managed to pull off a counter-attack try while the leaders were down a man, with Cleary scoring a second goal.

Unable to score with the sin bin advantage, Samoa finally got a breakthrough in the 61st minute thanks to Brian To'o, with Stephen Crichton converting successfully.

Tedesco gave Australia a larger lead again before Stephen Crichton got Samoa a second try, albeit was unable to then convert the extra points.

To sign off a successful final, Mitchell got his second try on the 80th minute, ensuring Australia won its third consecutive men's title.