SASCOC has announced the first set of athletes that will represent South Africa in the Olympics this summer. GETTY IMAGES

The South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) has released the first 39 members of the athletes that will be representing Team SA in the Paris 2024 Olympics this summer this Wednesday in Johannesburg.

SA will be represented across a variety of disciplines with the first list including aquatics, athletics, canoeing, gymnastics, sport climbing, surfing, and wrestling.

Of the 39 athletes chosen in the first squad, 15 have competed in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. The star-studded team so far includes the gold medallist and 400m world record holder Wayde van Niekerk, 100m sprinter Akani Simbine, 200m breaststroke defending champion Tatjana Smith (formerly Schoenmaker), and 200m butterfly Olympic gold medallist Chad le Clos.

Le Clos has already made history as the winner of the most Olympic medals by a South African and he’ll be looking to add to his collection of four in Paris.

SASCOC also revealed the financial incentives available to athletes from both the Olympics and Paralympics should they climb the podium and earn a medal this summer. 

Gold medalists will be awarded R400,000 (20,225 euros), with the coach receiving R100,000 (5,000 euros). Silver medalists will earn R200,000 (10,000 euros) and R50,000 (2,500 euros), while the bronze medal payouts will be R75,000 (3,792 euros) and R25,000 (1,264 euros) for the athlete and coach, respectively.

The President of SASCOC, Barry Hendricks, congratulated the athletes who have qualified and have been selected to represent Team SA. "The Olympics are the pinnacle of any elite athlete’s career and selection should be celebrated as such. It’s exciting, and a compliment to the quality that exists within South Africa, that we are able to announce a squad across numerous sports that is bursting with talent, achievers, and potential." he said. "These young men and women will be ambassadors for South Africa, and there’s so much more to being an Olympian than merely representing on the field of play. I want to congratulate each and every athlete selected and wish them well in their preparations for Paris."

The second squad is set to be announced in June, as qualifications are still ongoing and those listed below may still be subject to change pending additions. 

The provisional Team South Africa:


Men: Pieter Coetze (100m, 200m backstroke), Chad le Clos (100m butterfly), Matthew Sates (100m, 200m butterfly and 200m IM)

Women: Aimee Canny (200m freestyle), Kaylene Corbett (200m breaststroke), Erin Gallagher (100m butterfly), Rebecca Meder (200m IM), Tatjana Smith (100m, 200m breaststroke), Julia Vincent (diving, 3m springboard)


Men: Luxolo Adams (200m), Stephen Mokoka (marathon), Zakhiti Nene (400m), Lythe Pillay (400m), Benjamin Richardson (200m), Akani Simbine (100m), Tshepo Tshite (1500m), Wayde van Niekerk (400m), Jovan van Vuuren (long jump), Adriaan Wildschutt (5000m, 10000m)

Women: Marione Fourie (100mH), Zeney Geldenhuys (400mH), Rogail Joseph (400mH), Cian Oldknow (marathon), Prudence Sekgodiso (800m), Gerda Steyn (marathon), Irvette van Zyl (marathon)


Men: Andrew Birkett (kayak sprint), Hamish Lovemore (kayak sprint)

Women: Tiffany Koch (kayak sprint), Esti Olivier (kayak sprint) |

Management: Nkosi Mzolo (coach), Janet Simpkins (manager)


Women: Caitlin Rooskrantz (artistic)

Management: Ilse Pelser (coach)


Men: Joshua Bruyns (speed climbing), Mel Janse van Rensburg (lead & boulder)

Women: Aniya Holder (speed climbing), Lauren Mukheibir (lead & boulder) Management: Dean Bruyns (manager), John-David Muller (official coach)


Men: Matthew McGillivray, Jordy Smith

Women: Sarah Ann Baum

Management: Christopher Bond (coach), Rezar De Nicker (coach, manager)


Men: Nicholas Steyn (92kg)

Management: Jan Roets (coach)