The T20 Cricket World Cup is ready to get underway. GETTY IMAGES

Cricket's highly anticipated ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 gets underway from 2 June until 29, with hosts USA taking on Canada in the tournament's opening match.

The ninth edition of the tournament, featuring the most fast-paced and thrilling format of the game, will be the largest yet, thanks to the ICC's decision to expand from 16 to 20 teams. Additionally, this will be the first major ICC event partially hosted in the United States, a nation where cricket has historically faced challenges in gaining popularity.

Sixteen group stage matches will be held across three American locations, Florida, Texas, and New York. Among these, the highly anticipated India vs. Pakistan match will take place in Long Island, New York. 

The rest of the tournament, including the Super Eight stage, semi-finals, and final, will be hosted in the West Indies, with the final match set to occur at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados.

England won the tournament back in 2022, and will be looking to return the trophy again. GETTY IMAGES
England won the tournament back in 2022, and will be looking to return the trophy again. GETTY IMAGES

Twenty teams will compete in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup, including India, Pakistan, Australia, England, Netherlands, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, hosts United States and West Indies, along with Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ireland, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Canada, Nepal, Oman, Namibia, and Uganda.

The teams are divided into four groups of five, with only the top two from each group advancing. Relatively new to the big stage, Nepal, Papua New Guinea, and Oman are eager to make an impact and gain attention by securing surprise victories.

Group A
Group B
Group C
Group D
West Indies
New Zealand
South Africa
Papua New Guinea
Sri Lanka


The upcoming mega event will feature a total of 55 matches. In the initial league stage, each team will compete in four matches. The top two teams from each group will progress to the Super 8 stage, where they will be divided into two groups of four teams each. 

These qualified teams will play three matches against the other teams in their respective groups. The top two teams from each Super 8 group will advance to the semi-finals, and the winners of the semi-finals will compete in the final match scheduled for 29 June.


For the matches in the United States of America, four venues have been confirmed: Central Broward Park in Lauderhill, Florida; Church Street Park in Morrisville, North Carolina; Grand Prairie in Texas; and Van Cortlandt Park in the Bronx, New York City.

Meanwhile, six venues have been finalised for the matches in the West Indies: Providence Stadium in Guyana; Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados; Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in North Sound, Antigua; Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Tarouba; Arnos Vale Ground in Arnos Vale, St. Vincent; and Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in Gros Islet, St. Lucia.


Key facts:

- In the tournament, there will be no drawn matches. If teams are tied after 20 overs, a Super Over will be played to determine the winner. If the Super Over also ends in a tie, subsequent Super Overs will be contested until a winner emerges.

- Teams will earn two points for a victory, one for a no result, and none for a loss.

- During the group stages, a minimum of five overs per side is required to constitute a result, increasing to 10 overs for the semi-finals and final matches.

- The first semi-final and final matches have reserve days to ensure a result in case of adverse weather conditions. Additionally, the second semi-final has 250 minutes allocated on the scheduled day.

- If India advances to the knockout stage, they will participate in the second semi-final, which has a more favourable time slot (20:00 India time) for their country's TV audience compared to the first semi-final (06:00 India time).

Last Edition Stats:


Runners Up: Pakistan

Top Run Scorer: Virat Kohli, India (296 runs)

Top Wicket Taker: Wanindu Hasaranga, Sri Lanka (15 wickets)