Bandy: FIB Congress and Executive Committee elections in Stockholm. FIB

On Saturday 8 June, the Federation of International Bandy (FIB) held its Ordinary Congress in Stockholm, Sweden, which concluded with the election of the FIB Executive Committee (EC). A total of 13 countries were represented in person, while several members followed the event online.

Henrik Nilsson, new FIB President, thanked the members for their show of unity and support. "I am very happy to have been elected as the new FIB President and I would like to thank the member federations for their confidence in me," he said. 

"This is not a one-man show, it takes a team to ensure that the Federation has a great future. I am sure that by continuing to work together with the various stakeholders, we will achieve our goals and ensure a better future for the sport," stressed the Swede, who takes over from new Vice President Stein Pedersen.

Following the FIB Congress, the new FIB Executive Committee (EC) held its first meeting where the members discussed the main areas of focus for the near future. The FIB EC agreed on its next meeting and discussed pressing issues such as next year's World Championships.

Henrik Nilsson, Federation of International Bandy new president. FIB
Henrik Nilsson, Federation of International Bandy new president. FIB

The main decisions of the Congress were as follows: 

- Italy was granted a full membership status. 

- Modification of the FIB Statutes.

- The reports of the various committees were approved. 

- The Congress approved the creation of a FIB Strategic Plan to ensure the sustainable future of the organisation. 

- To create a direct way for athletes to be represented in the governing body of the FIB, the Congress ratified the members of the FIB Athletes' Committee approved by the FIB EC. 

They are:

- Ville Kristian Aaltonen (Finland). 

- Daniel Laszlo Bata (Hungary). 

- Gian Luca Dario Beeler (Switzerland). 

- Rebecca Lynn Draper (United States). 

- Sanna Gustaffson (Sweden). 

The five members of the FIB Executive Committee. FIB
The five members of the FIB Executive Committee. FIB

At the end of today's session, the Congress unanimously supported the proposal of the Election Committee and elected the members of the FIB Executive Committee. 

They are:

PresidentHenrik Nilsson (Sweden)
First Vice-President
Stein Pedersen (Norway)
Vice-PresidentsAttila Adamfi (Hungary),
Antti Parviainen (Finland)
Members of the Executive Committee
Mikhail Entaltsev (Germany)
Chanel Gilomen (Switzerland)
Andrew Knutson (United States)
Dawei Wu (China)