The second day of the World Cup saw road races take place ©UCI Para-cycling/Twitter

American and German Para-cyclists enjoyed a successful second day of the 2015 International Cycling Union (UCI) Para-cycling Road World Cup in Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland, by earning three golds in the road races.

Jana Majunke and Hans-Peter Durst led the German charge as they secured victories in the T2 classes, while Silka Pan, an ambassador for the Para-cycling event claimed gold in the women’s H4 classification race.

Majunke topped the podium after completing the 29 kilometres course in 1 hour 15min 3sec, finishing 44 seconds clear of the United States’ Jill Walsh.

Durst’s effort of 1:03.35 over the same course saw him secure the men’s title ahead of the US's Ryan Boyle, who was 36 seconds adrift, while the Czech Republic’s David Vondracek completed the podium after finishing 1:14 down on the winner.

Over the longer course of 43km the US’s Allison Jones had too much for The Netherlands’ Alyda Norbruis, who earned three titles at the UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in front of her own fans in Apeldoorn in March.

Jones recorded a time of 1:41.30 to finish 1:20 clear of the Dutchwoman and her victory was added to by her compatriots Alicia Brelsford Dana and Jamie Whitmore Cardenas after they earned titles in the H3 and C3 events.

Home favourite Tobias Fankhauser clinched victory in the men's H2 event
Home favourite Tobias Fankhauser clinched victory in the men's H2 event ©Twitter

The Netherlands proved to be the dominant team in the H5 class as Jetze Plat’s time of 1:55.03 saw him take gold ahead of team mates Johan Reekers and Tim De Vries, who finish 36 seconds and 1:23 behind to complete a Dutch clean sweep.

France’s Quentin Aubague, who secured gold in yesterday’s time trial event, added to his personal tally in the T1 men’s event by racing round the 14km course in a rapid time of 39:55, although Russia’s Sergey Semockin was able to finish 23 seconds adrift of the dominant force in this class.

Aubague has now replicated his performance from the first World Cup of the season in Maniago, Italy, while Poland’s Rafal Wilk and Slovakia’s Jozef Metelka also clinched their second wins of the week after posting times of 1:27.37 and 1:34.01 to win the men’s H4 and C4 events.

The home crowd were also able to enjoy successes as Switzerland’s Tobias Fankhauser beat Italy’s Luca Mazzone in a sprint to win the H2 title in 1:15.52, while Heinz Frei won H3 event in 1:30.33, finishing over a minute clear of Austria’s Walter Ablinger.

Several road races and the team relay events will bring the World Cup to a conclusion tomorrow.

Related stories
June 2015: Aubague among repeated winners at UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup in Yverdon-les-Bains
June 2015: Hosts Italy top overall medal standings at Para-cycling Road World Cup season opener
June 2015: Italy's Calcagni strikes gold again on productive day for Para-cycling Road World Cup hosts
June 2015: United States set gold standard on opening day of Para-cycling Road World Cup in Maniago
May 2015: World champions Turnham and Hall among British squad for UCI Para-cycling World Cup opener