Aya Medany of Egypt has been appointed to the UIPM Executive Board ©Getty Images

The International Modern Pentathlon Union (UIPM) has convened for the first time its new leadership team for the 2017-2020 Olympic cycle, which includes Olympians Aya Medany of Egypt and Australian Kitty Chiller.

Medany will act as the new chairman of the Athletes' Committee while Chiller has been handed the title of President of the Oceania Modern Pentathlon Confederation.

Together with secretary general Shiny Fang they make up a female contingent of three on the UIPM Executive Board, which will be in place until the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Medany competed at the 2004, 2008 and 2012 Olympic Games and is a Member of the International Olympic Committee's (IOC) Athletes' Commission, while Chiller competed in the 2000 Olympic Games and was Chef de Mission of the Australian team at the Rio 2016 Games.

The UIPM President, Klaus Schormann, was re-elected to extend his 23-year reign at the 68th UIPM Congress last week in Frankfurt in Germany, as well as various other members.

One additional appointment has now been made by the Executive Board, with Frenchman Christian Roudaut elected as chairman of the Coaches' Committee.

Only one of the 21 positions on the Executive Board remains to be confirmed, with the role of chairman of the Medical Committee to be decided by its members in due course.

Chiller is one of six Presidents of Continental Confederations on the Executive Board, joining the re-elected Dmytro Svatkovsky, who represents Europe, and South America's Jorge Salas.

Australia's Rio 2016 Chef de Mission Kitty Chiller has also been appointed ©Getty Images
Australia's Rio 2016 Chef de Mission Kitty Chiller has also been appointed ©Getty Images

Nundkishor Fakun from Mauritius, who will be representing Africa and Sangwoo Park from South Korea, representing Asia, will also sit on the Board, alongside Rob Stull from the United States who will represent the interests of North, Central America and the Caribbean.

"It is my honour to continue working with all of our Executive Board members for another four years," said Fang.

"Together with all other UIPM committees and commissions and the full dedication of our staff team, we can make the difference again for another Olympic cycle."

John Helmick of the US is the new treasurer while five vice-presidents were appointed to serve alongside Schormann in Frankfurt.

Juan Antonio Samaranch of Spain, Frenchman Joel Bouzou and Russian Viacheslav Aminov were all given roles, while Mexico's Juan Manzo Oranegui and Imashev Berik of Kazakhstan complete the list.

The first meeting of the new Executive Board will be held at the Olympic Museum in Lausanne in Switzerland between January 20 and 21.

"First of all I am thankful to the board members who are no longer serving the Union and I welcome the new members too," said Schormann.

"They are great people and very well-known sport personalities in their countries.

"Not only because of the record number of countries, but also because of the important decisions approved by our members, we can say that this Congress was a glorious moment for the UIPM.

"We are looking forward to the first Executive Board meeting in Lausanne at the Olympic Museum, which will be attended by the IOC President Thomas Bach."