Croatia have made it three victories from three ©Getty Images

London 2012 Olympic champions Croatia maintained their 100 per cent record of regulation time wins as European qualification games in the men's International Swimming Federation (FINA) Water Polo World League continued.

The Croatians made it three consecutive victories in Group B as they claimed an emphatic 18-7 away win over The Netherlands in Eindhoven.

It means they top the group with the maximum nine points available, with Greece now second on six after they beat winless France 16-7 in their home pool in Athens.

The Dutch are third on three points in front of the French who are yet to get off the mark.

In Group A Serbia had to settle for just two points, courtesy of a penalty shoot-out victory over hosts Slovakia in Nováky.

The Serbians, who dethroned Croatia as Olympic champions by beating them in the Rio 2016 final in August, were held to a draw as the contest finished 11-11.

They went on to win a lengthy shoot-out 7-6 to win 18-17 overall.

The other match in the group also ended level, with Germany and Romania drawing 10-10 in Duisburg.

Rio 2016 champions Serbia had to settle for success on penalties ©Getty Images
Rio 2016 champions Serbia had to settle for success on penalties ©Getty Images

It was the Germans who won the shoot-out, 4-3 in front of their own fans, to seal a 14-13 success and their first points of the group.

This result means Serbia, also the defending World League champions, top the group with eight points with Slovakia and Romania both on four.

Germany are still bottom on two, despite their success.

In Group C, one match was played in a three-team group with Rio 2016 bronze medallists Italy making it two wins from two.

They eased to a 14-5 home win over Georgia in Busto Arsizio to climb above Russia and go top.

All three teams have now played two matches with Russia second on three points and Georgia bottom with zero.

Only the trio of group winners will make it through to the Super Final, which has yet to be allocated a host nation or dates.

The host nation, as well as four non-European teams who progress from an Intercontinental Tournament, will also compete.

The next round of qualifiers is due to take place on February 14.