Jeremy Flores, a 2009 gold medallist, has been named in the French team ©ISA

Brazil and France have named their teams for the 2017 International Surfing Association (ISA) World Surfing Games in Biarritz.

The host nation have been able to call on a gold medallist from the 2009 event in Jeremy Flores, as they seek success in front of a home crowd at the Grande Plage.

Johanne Defay has also been confirmed in the French team, along with Joan Duru, Pauline Ado, and Vincent Duvignac.

The final member of their men’s team will be confirmed in April.

Brazil have selected three surfers who feature in the World Surf League Championship Tour in the form of brothers Wiggoly and Weslley Dantas, as well as Miguel Pupo.

Ian Gouveia, Jaqueline Silva and Suelen Naraisa complete their selected for the Games, which will take place between May 20 and 28.

Johanne Defay will be among the host nation's team in Biarritz ©ISA
Johanne Defay will be among the host nation's team in Biarritz ©ISA

“We are thrilled that some of the most talented and explosive professional surfers in the world will represent their countries at the 2017 ISA World Surfing Games,” said Fernando Aguerre, ISA President.

“The level of competition in Biarritz will be amazing and the participation by these great athletes is also testimony to the excitement that is building in the surfing world for the opportunity to compete for glory on the highest sporting stage – the Olympic Games in 2020.

“The drive to compete for the national teams is also evidenced by what we are expecting to be a record number of countries participating.

“Surfing is no longer dominated by a few countries, as we have continually seen more top surfing talent coming out of non-traditional surfing nations.

“Such growing universality is representative of the increased reach and global growth of the sport.

“Many of these surfers have a great chance to be among the first wave of Olympic surfers in the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games.”

Each team will be able to field up to four men and two women, while surfers will also compete for individual medals.

The Fernando Aguerre ISA World Team Trophy, donated by the ISA President, will be presented to the winners.

More national teams are expected to announced their surfers in the coming weeks, including the 2015 and 2016 champions Costa Rica and Peru.