World records fell on the second day of the Para-Cycling Track World Championships ©UCI

World records fell in the 200 metres time trial competition as the International Cycling Union (UCI) Para-Cycling Track World Championships continued in Milton.

Six events saw the winners set new marks at Mattamy National Cycling Centre.

Canadian home favourite Kate O’Brien earned her second gold of the championships by clocking 11.519 seconds in the women’s C4 200m time trial, smashing the previous record of 12.957.

O’Brien is competing at her first Para-Cycling World Championships, with the Rio 2016 Olympian having begun a para-cycling career following her recovery from a severe head injury sustained in 2017.

The Canadian was followed by Australia’s Emily Petricola and China’s Ruan Jianping, who achieved times of 12.362 and 12.490 respectively.

Chinese cyclists enjoyed success on the second day of competition, with Wang Xiaomei winning the women’s C3 200m in a world-record time of 12.853.

United States’ Clara Brown and Jamie Whitmore rounded off the podium positions in 13.575 and 14.099.

Song Zhenling matched Wang’s achievement by taking gold in the women’s C2 200m event.

The Chinese rider triumphed in 13.672 ahead of her team mate Zeng Sini, who finished runner-up in 13.976.

Bronze was earned by Germany’s Maike Hausberger in 14.527.

Spain’s Ricardo Ten Argiles lowered his men’s C1 200m world record from 12.640 to 12.325 to win gold.

Liang Weicong of China and Canada’s Ross Wilson completed the podium in times of 12.419 and 13.114.

The men’s C5 200m event saw Christopher Murphy triumph in a world record 10.579, with the American holding off the challenge of Spain’s Pablo Jaramillo Gallardo, who was second in 10.870.

France’s Dorian Foulon placed third in 11.171.

Foulon’s compatriot Alexandre Leaute secured the men’s C2 200m title by clocking 11.990, which completed the world records set in the time trial events.

Canada’s Tristen Chernove placed second in 12.141, while China’s Liang Cuihua finished in 12.338 to round off the top three.

There were victories for Russia’s Aleksei Obydennov and American cyclist Justin Widhalm in the men’s C3 and C4 200m time trial competitions.

Britain’s Sarah Storey earned her 19th world title on the track by winning the women’s C5 200m time trial.