The Netherlands won Olympic gold at Tokyo 2020 ©Getty Images

Olympic, world and Pro League champions The Netherlands will get the third season of the Hockey Pro League underway tomorrow when they take on neighbours Belgium.

The Dutch women won each of the first two editions of the International Hockey Federation's (FIH) top-tier league competition, and underlined their class by winning an Olympic gold medal in Tokyo earlier this year.

Head coach Alyson Annan has named seven of the players who won Olympic gold in the squad for the match against Belgium at Wagener Stadium in Amsterdam tomorrow, including captain Eva de Goede.

Three uncapped players were also called up, perhaps with an eye on the future and refreshing a wining team. 

All four of these teams' previous Hockey Pro League matches have ended in Dutch victories.

The Netherlands also beat Belgium 3-1 in the semi-finals of the European Championship earlier this year, which was played at Wagener Stadium.

Belgium finished third - winning a continental medal for the first time - while the Dutch won a third successive EuroHockey crown.

The Netherlands knocked Belgium out of the European Championship earlier this year ©Getty Images
The Netherlands knocked Belgium out of the European Championship earlier this year ©Getty Images

The FIH has added Spain and India to the women's Hockey Pro League this season after Australia and New Zealand withdrew.

The two nations from Oceania pulled out on COVID-19 grounds.

The coronavirus crisis saw numerous Hockey Pro League matches called off last season, and the competition's timeline was extended before points average was ultimately used to decide the standings, with teams having played different numbers of games.

As well as the Hockey Pro League, a Women's Hockey World Cup is also scheduled in 2022 - being co-hosted by Wagener Stadium and the Estadi Olímpic de Terrassa in Spain, the hockey venue for the Barcelona 1992 Olympics.