Elaine Thompson-Herah is a favourite for the award after winning three gold medals at Tokyo 2020 ©Getty Images

A 10-person shortlist for World Athletics' Female World Athlete of the Year honour has been released, with Jamaica's triple Tokyo 2020 gold medallist Elaine Thompson-Herah and the European Female Athlete of the Year Sifan Hassan of The Netherlands headlining the nominees.

The contenders were selected by an international panel of experts, comprising representatives from all six of World Athletics' continental areas.

All 10 nominees are reigning Olympic champions.

Thompson-Herah was formidable in the Japanese capital, winning the 100 metres, 200m and 4x100m relay.

Hassan became the first Dutch woman to win an Olympic medal in a long-distance athletics event as she claimed gold in the 5,000m and 10,000m as well as bronze in the 1500m.

Hassan also broke the 10,000m world record in 2021 - albeit that he mark only stood for two days.

The United States boasts the highest number of athletes in consideration with three.

Sydney McLaughlin blew the competition away to take the 400m hurdles gold medal with a world-record time of 51.46sec at Tokyo 2020.

The 22-year-old was also a member of the victorious women's 4x400m relay team.

Despite competing at her first Olympic Games, 19-year-old Athing Mu looked at ease as she secured the 800m gold medal and joined McLaughlin on that relay team.

Valarie Allman's 68.98 metres discus throw in Tokyo earned her the pinnacle prize and a place on the shortlist as she also broke the North American record earlier in the year.

Puerto Rico's Jasmine Camacho-Quinn broke the 100-metre hurdles Olympic record with the tied fourth-fastest time in history of 12.26secs.

Yulimar Rojas won the World Female Athlete of the Year award in 2020 as well as the Rising Star award in 2017 ©Getty Images
Yulimar Rojas won the World Female Athlete of the Year award in 2020 as well as the Rising Star award in 2017 ©Getty Images

Faith Kipyegon of Kenya is the only African on the list after a sensational year saw her become the Olympic and Diamond League champion 1500m while also breaking the national record in the event, clocking 3min 51.07sec.

Authorised Neutral Athlete Mariya Lasitskene jumped a world-leading 2.05 metres in the high jump in addition to becoming Olympic and Diamond League champion.

Yulimar Rojas had another sensational year as she looks to win the award for a second time following her 2020 triumph.

The Venezuelan set a triple jump world record of 15.67m at Tokyo 2020 to take gold, while also reigning supreme in the Diamond League.

Shaunae Miller-Uibo defended her Olympic title in the 400m with a North American record, while also setting the area's indoor record in the same season.

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists, with ballots from the World Athletics Council counting for 50 per cent of the result and the "World Athletics Family" and the public making up 25 per cent each with their votes.

Voting closes on November 6 and the winner will be announced at the World Athletics Awards, due to take place in December.