Bálint Kopasz of Hungary won the men’s K1 1000m in Dartmouth ©Getty Images

It was a field day for Olympic champions at the International Canoe Federation (ICF) Canoe Sprint World Championships with Lisa Carrington, Bálint Kopasz and Shixiao Xu and Mengya Sun bagging gold in Dartmouth.

Poland’s women’s K4 team and the Spanish men’s K4 side also emerged victorious.

New Zealand’s Carrington bagged gold in the women’s K1 500 metres in 1 min 58.69sec with Anamarija Govorčinović of Croatia coming second in 1:59.97.

Jule Hake of Germay finished 1.61 later to take bronze.

"We knew it was going to be a headwind all week, so I was definitely prepared, it’s just about having that mindset about how to strategically paddle into that headwind," Carrington said after claiming her third K1 500 title.

"There’s still lots to learn from, like today continuously putting myself into a position where I have to rise up to the challenge, or take some opportunities or some learnings from it, so every moment of pressure is a great learning opportunity."

Kopasz was the winner of the men’s K1 1000m with the Hungarian clocking 3:38.93 to claim the title.

It was a tough one to take for Tokyo 2020 bronze medallist Fernando Pimenta of Portugal, who finished just 0.05 later in second place.

Bronze medal was bagged by Jacob Schopf of Germany in 3:40.27.

New Zealand’s Lisa Carrington bagged gold in the women’s K1 500 metres in 1 min 58.69sec ©Getty Images
New Zealand’s Lisa Carrington bagged gold in the women’s K1 500 metres in 1 min 58.69sec ©Getty Images

"This year I felt in very good form," Kopasz said.

"Every year I am getting a little bit stronger which is so important for the 1000, and my endurance was also strong. I felt like I was in better form for these world championships then last year.

"I think I am in a very good position heading towards the Paris Olympic Games."

Tokyo 2020 gold medallists and Chinese pairing of Shixiao and Mengya were a cut above the rest in the women’s C2 500m as they cruised to gold in 2:01.26.

Liudmyla Luzan and Anastasiia Chetverikova brought joy for Ukraine when they grabbed silver in 2.06, underlining China’s dominance in the event.

Giada Bragato and Bianka Nagy of Hungary finished third in 2:04.70.

As expected, Karolina Naja, Anna Pulawska, Adrianna Kąkol, and Dominika Putto of Poland bagged the women's K4 500m title in 1:30.70.

Austraians Ella Beere, Alyssa Bull, Alexandra Clarke, and Yale Steinepreis ensured silver medal by clocking 1:32.78.

Mexican quatret of Karina Alanís, Isabel Romero, Beatriz Briones and Maricela Montemayor finished 2.53 later to claim bronze.

Saúl Craviotto, Carlos Arévalo, Marcus Coper and Rodrigo Germade ensured gold for Spain in the men’s K4 500m by crossing the finish line in 1:20.83.

Max Rendschmidt, Tom Liebscher, Jacob Schopf and Max Lemke of Germany were 0.43 behind in second and Ukrainians Oleh Kukharyk, Dmytro Danylenko, Igor Trunov and Ivan Semykin placed third in 1:21.38.

Brazil’s Isaquias dos Santos, Czech Josef Dostal, Poland’s Oleksii Koliadych, Hungary’s Blanka Kiss and Anna Lucz, Cuba’s Yarisleidis Duboys and Katherin Segura and Ukraine’s Liudmyla Luzan gained world titles in non-Olympic races.