Spain's women's team are seeking back-to-back water polo titles ©Getty Images

The European Water Polo Championships are set to get underway tomorrow in Croatia with the beginning of the women's tournament, as Spain look to defend their crown in Split.

Two days later, the men's competition is scheduled to start, where Hungary hold hope in winning back-to-back titles for the first time since 1999.

Spain defeated Russia in the women's edition in 2020 to win their second title, but their final opponents will not return this year, having been excluded due to the invasion of Ukraine.

The 2022 champion could come from anywhere, with five different winners coming from the last six Championships.

The Netherlands and 2020 bronze medallists Hungary were victorious in 2018 and 2016 and are situated in Group A.

Croatia's best result in the women's tournament is eighth, and they occupy Group A too with Germany, 2018 silver medallists Greece and Romania.

Group B sees the defending champions meet 2012 champions Italy, as well as Serbia, Slovakia, Israel and France.

Hungary have not won consecutive titles since 1999 ©Getty Images
Hungary have not won consecutive titles since 1999 ©Getty Images

Two years ago, Hungary defeated Spain in a shootout in the men's final to claim its first title in 21 years.

Spain had stopped Serbia winning its fifth title in-a-row in the quarter-finals, also in a shootout.

This means Serbia will still consider themselves one of the favourites, and are in Group D with Hungary, along with Israel and Slovenia.

Spain are in Group C with Germany, Romania and The Netherlands.

Every title between Hungary's last two crowns have went to former Yugoslav nations, with hosts Croatia being the 2010 victors.

The hosts have made the final four at the past two tournaments and are in Group B with Greece, Malta and France.

Montenegro, the 2008 champions and four-time medallists since independence in 2006, are in Group A with with Italy, Georgia and Slovakia.

Competition is to end at the Spaladium Arena on September 10.