Farid Gayibov has been re-elected unopposed for a second term as European Gymnastics President ©European Gymnastics

Azerbaijan's Minister of Youth and Sports Farid Gayibov has been re-elected unopposed as President of European Gymnastics at the organisation's Congress in Albufeira.

Elections for the Presidential role and other positions are for a three-year term through to 2025, reduced from four years due to last year's Congress being postponed because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Gayibov won the election against Slovenia's Edvard Kolar in 2017 to become European Gymnastics' fifth President.

Last year, he stood for the International Gymnastics Federation Presidency, but was beaten by the incumbent Morinari Watanabe.

He had been appointed as Azerbaijan's Minister of Youth and Sports earlier in 2021.

Gayibov was the only candidate for the Presidential role, with all 44 votes cast in the Portuguese city in favour of his re-election.

A total of 45 National Federations from a possible 50 were present in Albufeira.

The Ukrainian Gymnastics Federation declared its intention to boycott due to the participation of representatives from Russia and Belarus.

Gayibov vowed to use his mandate to seek the development of the sport in Europe.

"Thanks for your confidence," he said.

"I’m honoured and will do my utmost for the development of gymnastics in our continent."

Prior to the election, Gayibov released an outline of his plans for his second term as President.

This included seven points on development, including an insistence that "as we are the strongest continental union, we must actively participate in decision making that is made on global gymnastics policies".

Marketing plans include the development of a Gymnast of the Year Awards event and reviewing of the format of existing competitions.

His plans also covered finance and good governance, including a desire to "set examples in gender equality, fight against abuse and harassment, sustainable development and partnerships with different humanitarian organizations and commissions".

France's Michel Boutard was re-elected as a vice-president, a role also now held by Norway's Tom Thingvold and Slovenia's Edvard Kolar.

The Executive Committee is completed by re-elected officials Sólveig Jónsdóttir of Iceland and Paolo Frising of Luxembourg, joined by newly elected Kineret Tzedef of Israel, Álvaro Sousa of Portugal, Marta Pagnini of Italy, Natalja Inno of Estonia and Ciaran Gallagher of Ireland.

Hungary's Judit Körmendy-Ékes and Mircea Dumitru Apolzan of Romania stood for re-election on the Executive Committee, but were unsuccessful.

Elections were also held for the eight Technical Committees.

The body for men's artistic gymnastics is to be headed up Mario Vukoja of Croatia, with the women's artistic gymnastics equivalent by Anca Grigoraș of Romania.

Cypriot Evangelia Trikomiti was elected as President of the Rhythmic Gymnastics Technical Committee, The Netherlands' Babette Van Wetering as head of the Trampoline Technical Committee and Hlíf Thorgeirsdóttir of Iceland as Gymnastics for All Technical Committee President.

France's Carine Charlier, Romania's Alina Dragan and Sweden's Per Sjöstrand were the other elected Technical Committee Presidents for acrobatic gymnastics, aerobic gymnastics and TeamGym respectively.

The control authorities team composition remains the same, headed up by Romania's Catalin Manu, who is assisted by Slovenia's Ivan Levak and Austria's Walter Sinn.

Elections were also held for the six-member Medical Commission, which is to be led by Greece’s Odysseas Paxinos.

Luboś Hrazdira of Czech Republic, Croatia's Goran Vrgoč, Israel's Gal Dubnov Raz, Filipa Fernandes of Portugal and Gerald Gremion of Switzerland were the other elected members.

Terms for each of the elected representatives are set to begin at the start of 2023.

Bulgaria's capital Sofia is due to host next year's European Gymnastics Congress on December 1 and 2.