New Zealand's 24th consecutive victory in the World Rugby Women's Sevens Series in Vancouver saw them defeat Australia in the final and book a place at next year's Olympics in Paris ©World Rugby

New Zealand's women's team have confirmed their place at next year's Olympic Games in Paris after winning the World Rugby Women's Sevens Series title in Vancouver.

The defending Olympic champions beat old rivals Australia in the final 19-12 at BC Place Stadium in the Canadian city for their 24th consecutive win in the Series and their fourth tournament victory following Cape Town, Hamilton and Sydney. 

Lifting the trophy guaranteed the Black Ferns top-four finish in this season's Women's Sevens Series standings - and automatic qualification for Paris 2024 and the opportunity to defend the title they won at Tokyo 2020. 

They join France, who qualify automatically as hosts. 

The was the 21st time New Zealand and Australia had contested a World Rugby Women's Sevens Series final and, as usual, it was a tight affair with the two side levels at half-time.

Jorja Miller gave New Zealand the lead in the second-half, as they never looked back despite Australia's Charlotte Caslick cutting the deficit to seven points.

Cory Sweeney, New Zealand's head coach, was delighted after his side overcame a tough opponent.

"We knew Australia were going to be tough tonight," he said.

"We knew they would come out firing, they’ve had a really good tournament, so the girls were up for it.

"Day two, we probably had a couple of lapses - a great game against Canada at home, but to finish the way we did tonight, we’re over the moon."

The United States took third, defeating France in another tight contest that ended 19-17.

The Impact Player of the Women's side was Fiji's Reapi Ulunisau, who made 10 tackles, nine breaks, 11 offloads and 27 carries.

The Player of the Final was Sarah Hirini of New Zealand, who scored one try, while assisting another.

The men's World Rugby Sevens Series title was won by Argentina, who defeated France 33-21 in the final, to lift the title for a second consecutive year. 

The game was tied at 21 with five minutes to play, until Marcos Moneta was able to use his speed to catch and finish Tobias Wade's throw in the last minute.

The deal was sealed after Agustin Fraga slid over with the clock in the red.

Argentina Captain Matthias Osadczuk expressed his happiness over the title win.

"For the players who are not here, we are a team, a real team and always what we do is give - give for the team, give for each other, give to be better every day," he said.

"We feel the support from our fans in Argentina."

Argentina defeated France to secure their second successive Canada Sevens title ©World Rugby
Argentina defeated France to secure their second successive Canada Sevens title ©World Rugby

The third playoff was won by Australia.

They beat Ireland 20-5.

The Impact Player of the tournament was France's 21-year-old Theo Forner, who had 13 tackles, seven breaks and 22 carries during the tournament.

The Player of the Final was Argentina's Rodrigo Isgro, who scored their second try.

Hosts France are so far the only team to be guaranteed a spot in the men's tournament at Paris 2024.