The FISU America 2024 Assembly took place, during which the authorities for various positions within the leadership of the International University Sports Federation of America were elected for the next four years. Alim Maluf Neto was re-elected President.

The FISU America 2024 Assembly was held to elect the authorities of the organisation, which represents 32 countries in the Americas and is affiliated to the International University Sports Federation (FISU). 

The organisation, which promotes the development of university sport throughout the Americas, elected representatives to continue the work of improving university sport on the continent for the next 4 years. Brazilian Alim Maluf Neto, who has held the position since 2016, was re-elected to the highest position.

The work of the representatives is important because throughout the year they ensure that all the events organised by the American Federation can take place. They make decisions based on the needs of the continent's sporting and educational institutions, so that more young people can become part of the university sports family.

Among the major tournaments to be held in the Americas this year is the FISU America Games, which will be held in the Colombian city of Cali from 5 to 14 November 2024. The third continental games will feature competitions in: Chess, Athletics, Basketball, Futsal, Judo, Karate, Taekwondo, Weightlifting, Swimming, Tennis, Table Tennis, Volleyball and Beach Volleyball.

"I am very happy to be at the helm of FISU America for another four years; the Executive Committee that has worked hard over the past four years to develop the activities of our continent. I would like to thank all the countries that participated in this General Assembly, where we worked, talked and showed the unity and strength of our continent", said Alim Maluf Neto, re-elected President.

Elected positions:

-President: Alim Maluf Neto (Brazil).

-Vice-President: Fred Asprilla (Colombia).

-Secretary: América Alvarado (Honduras).

-Treasurer: Inés Gómez (Argentina).


-Alex Funes (El Salvador).

-Gernot Hecht (Chile).

-Ian Pritchard (Trinudad and Tobago).

-Cristian Romero (Peru).

-Gabriel Valdés (Panama).