France have won the team gold medal at the 2017 World Surfing Games ©ISA

France have won their maiden team gold medal at the International Surfing Association (ISA) World Surfing Games in Biarritz.

The French team were favourites to lift the title after Pauline Ado and Johanne Defay took gold and silver respectively in the women's competition at La Grande Plage earlier this week. 

Their men have continued their good form with 2009 gold medallist Jeremy Flores and Joan Duru both advancing to tomorrow's semi-finals.

As a result, no other team is in a position to beat France’s points total.

The hosts are currently on 4,720 points with Spain their closest challengers on 3,140.

Portugal complete the top three on 3,120.

Flores will meet Pedro Henrique of Portugal, Mexico's Jhony Corzo and Spaniard Vicente Romero in the first semi-final.

Awaiting Duru in the second are Jonathan González of Spain, Morocco's Yassine Ramdani and Jordy Collins of the United States.

Joan Duru is one of two French men in tomorrow's semi-finals ©ISA
Joan Duru is one of two French men in tomorrow's semi-finals ©ISA

“Congratulations to Team France for winning their first-ever ISA World Surfing Games Team World Championship," said ISA President Fernando Aguerre.

"An amazing accomplishment that should be saluted.

“We are only three years from the Olympic Games.

"Some of these surfers could very well be competing at Tokyo 2020.

“I am also very excited to see the universality of our sport in the semi-finals with surfers from Europe, the Americas and Africa vying for the gold medal.”

As well as the men's semi-finals and final, tomorrow will also see the ISA Aloha Cup take place. 

This is a team relay event that includes the top eight teams from the last year's World Surfing Games in Costa Rica.

Three men and one woman in each team surf in the relay, accumulating the wave totals from each athlete in a 40 minute heat.

The team that ends up having the highest overall heat score wins.

Peru, France, Costa Rica, New Zealand, Portugal, the US, Argentina and Japan will be the nations in the competition.