Taran Kozun earned two awards at the gala ©U SPORTS

U SPORTS, the governing body for university sport in Canada, have announced Taran Kozun and Tyra Meropoulis as their ice hockey player of the year award winners.

The awards were presented at the U Sports All-Canadian gala.

Kozun secured both the men’s player of the year and goaltender of the year awards on the evening.

The Saskatchewan goaltender became the first athlete to claim both awards in the same season, since the goaltending honour was introduced in 2009-2010.

Kozun also won the goaltender award last year.

McGill’s Nikolas Brouillard was named received the defencemen of the year prize, while Saint Mary’s forward Mitchell Balmas claimed the men’s rookie honour.

Saskatchewan forward Levi Cable won the fair play award, while Acadia’s Liam Maaskant earned student athlete community service prize.

Meropoulis headed the women’s ice hockey awards, after she led the nation in both earning 37 points and scoring 26 goals during the season.

Alberta forward Madison Willan won the rookie prize, with McGill defender Emilia Cotter taking the student athlete community service honour.

 Ryan Medel and Vicky Sunohara secured the men’s and women’s coach of the year awards, respectively.