Alberto Maciel Junior has been re-elected Brazilian Taekwondo Confederation President ©CBTKD

Alberto Maciel Junior is set to serve another four-year term as President of the Brazilian Taekwondo Confederation (CBTKD), following a hybrid in-person and online election.

It will be the official's second term, having held the CBTKD Presidency since April 2017.

Maciel Junior is also a member of the Brazilian Olympic Committee's Board of Directors.

Rivanaldo de Freitas will serve as his vice-president.

Presidents of the CBTKD's regional federations and representatives of taekwondo clubs, academies and associations were eligible to vote.

A total of 15 practitioners from the Athletes' Commission were also able to vote.

The vote was held in Rio de Janeiro and remotely on January 16, while an assembly also approved the CBTKD's 2020 accounts and the constitution of its Audit Committee.

Palavra do Presidente e Vice-presidente eleitos da CBTKD 2021 / 2025 Após reeleição por aclamação, Presidente...

Posted by Confederação Brasileira de Taekwondo on Sunday, 17 January 2021

"I want to thank everyone who is trusting in the work of our management," said Maciel Junior.

"We had an election with a single ticket, in an unprecedented scenario, with the participation of representatives of the Athletes' Committee and clubs, in addition to the Presidents of the federations.

"Having everyone's support makes us very happy and this mandate conduction, with unity, only strengthens us to seek the best management for Brazilian taekwondo."

A former CBTKD coach, De Freitas spoke of the importance of supporting taekwondo players.

"I thank the whole community for supporting our work, which was reflected today in the votes of the representatives, in the assembly that elected us by acclamation," he said.

"We reiterate the commitment to watch over our sport and to work more and more for the development of Brazilian taekwondo, in all segments, with a special look at social taekwondo."

Brazil is set to be represented by three taekwondo players at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics and three at the Paralympics.