Daniil Medvedev, fourth from right, is the reigning ATP Finals champion ©Getty Images

Novak Djokovic is seeking to end 2021 on a high and win the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) Finals for a record-equalling sixth time, but will not be in action when the competition begins in Turin tomorrow.

Instead it is the Red Group which will begin proceedings, with Daniil Medvedev - last year's champion - taking on Hubert Hurkacz in the first singles match.

Whereas Poland's Hurkacz is making his ATP Finals debut, Medvedev made history by beating each of the three highest-ranked players in the world last year en route to the title.

The Russian has also enjoyed a breakthrough 2021, winning his maiden Grad Slam title at the US Open. 

Italian Matteo Berrettini will play Olympic champion Alexander Zverev of Germany in tomorrow's second singles clash, and can expect to receive hearty support at the Pala Alpitour.

Serbia's Djokovic will join Swiss great Roger Federer on six ATP Finals wins should he be successful in Turin.

Debutant Casper Ruud from Norway, Russia's Andrey Rublev and Greek Stefanos Tsitsipas join Djokovic in the Green Group.

Novak Djokovic is a five-time ATP Finals winner, but was last victorious in 2015 ©Getty Images
Novak Djokovic is a five-time ATP Finals winner, but was last victorious in 2015 ©Getty Images

Djokovic will begin his campaign against Ruud on Monday (November 15), when Rublev and Tsitsipas are also due to meet.

Tsitsipas won the ATP Finals in 2019, while Zverev was the 2018 champion.

The event is being played in Turin for the first time this year, having moved from London.

The only top-eight player in the world rankings not competing is Spaniard Rafael Nadal, who failed to qualify for the first time since 2004.

A doubles tournament will also be played in Turin.

Nikola Mektić won last year's ATP Finals with Dutchman Wesley Koolhof, but is instead playing with fellow Croatian Mate Pavić this time.