Roberto Bautista Agut beat Poland's Hubert Hurkacz to book Spain's place in the ATP Cup final ©Getty Images

Spain will contest the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) Cup final for the second time in three years after beating Poland over three matches in Sydney in Australia.

Poland's number two Kamil Majchrzak tested positive for COVID-19 after winning all three of his matches in Group D, with Jan Zieliński taking his place for the singles match against Pablo Carreño Busta in the semi-final.

World number 20 and Olympic bronze medallist Carreño Busta took 54 minutes to clinch a comfortable 6-2, 6-1 victory at the Ken Rosewall Arena.

Roberto Bautista Agut followed that up with an entertaining three-set win against world number nine Hubert Hurkacz, sending Spain into the final.

Bautista Agut took the first set after triumphing 8-6 in a tiebreak, before Hurkacz broke his serve twice in the second to level the match at 7-6, 2-6.

The Spaniard had match points at 5-5 and 6-6 in the deciding third set, but Hurkacz held firm to force a tiebreak.

However, Bautista Agut converted a match point at the sixth time of asking in the tiebreak, which he won 7-5.

"Sometimes you get the win on the first [match] point," the world number 19 commented.

"He played two or three lines in a row, but sometimes you stay focussed like today, you keep working and finally you lose the tiebreak.

"But today I kept working and I got the win."

Zieliński, playing with Szymon Walków, helped Poland to earn a consolation victory in the doubles match.

They beat Pedro Martínez and Albert Ramos Viñolas courtesy of a 10-6 win in a tiebreak after they had won the first set 6-4 and lost the second 6-3.

Spain, who were beaten 2-1 by Serbia in the final of the inaugural edition of the ATP Cup in 2020, will face either Canada or Russia in the final, with the two nations set to meet in their semi-final tomorrow.

The tournament is serving as a warm-up for the Australian Open, with the first Grand Slam of the calendar year scheduled to begin on January 17.