Germany won the IHF Men's Junior World Championship 30-23 against Hungary ©Getty Images

Co-hosts Germany triumphed over Hungary in Berlin to win the International Handball Federation Men's Junior World Championship.

The under-21 tournament was being held for the first time in four years after the 2021 edition in Hungary was cancelled due to COVID-19.

Matches were held at five venues across three German cities and the Greek capital Athens.

Germany were the first winners of the Men's Junior World Championship to have triumphed in all of their matches in normal time since 2015 and secured their third title after back-to-back golds in 2009 and 2011.

The final against Hungary at the Max-Schmeling-Halle was played in front of a sell-out 8,235 crowd.

David Späth saved Hungary's first three shots, and the debutants in the final were only able to lead once in the first half at 5-4 in the 14th minute.

A late goal from Elias Scholtes gave Germany a 14-11 half-time lead, and they opened up an 17-13 advantage early in the second which prompted a timeout from Hungary,

However, Germany extended their lead to 25-18 with 13 minutes remaining, and played out a 30-23 victory to win the tournament.

Justus Fischer and Scholtes scored six times in the final, and centre-back Nils Lichtlein was named the tournament's most valuable player.

Germany had earlier beaten Denmark 31-26 and Serbia 40-30 in the knockout stage.

They topped Group B in the preliminary round with a 35-14 thrashing of Libya, 46-31 triumph over Tunisia and 33-22 victory against Algeria at Swiss Life Hall in Hanover.

In the main round, they edged out defending champions France 30-29 and Croatia 31-29 at the GETEC Arena in Magdeburg.

Hungary reached the final for the first time since the inaugural edition of the Championship in 1977, beating Croatia 28-23 and Iceland 37-30 in the knockout phases.

Iceland took the bronze medal with a 27-23 victory against Serbia.

France ranked 11th after failing to progress through the group in the main round, and co-hosts Greece were 15th.

A tournament record of 6,805 goals were scored across 116 matches.

The Faroe Islands' Elias Ellefsen Á Skipagotu and Japan’s Naoki Fujisaka finished as joint-top scorers with 55 goals each.