Sergey Bubka has been appointed to the Coordination Commission for the 2019 European Games in Minsk ©NOC Ukraine

International Olympic Committee (IOC) Executive Board member Sergey Bubka has been appointed to the Coordination Commission for the 2019 European Games in Minsk.

The former world pole vault record holder and 1988 Olympic champion, who is also a senior vice-president of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), was invited to join the Commission by acting European Olympic Committees (EOC) President Janez Kocijančič.

Bubka will be part of the group tasked with overseeing preparations for the Games in the Belarusian capital, the second edition of the event following the inaugural competition in Baku in 2015.

The announcement comes after the Commission conducted a visit to Minsk in May.

The sports programme was one of the main issues discussed during the visit, before the competition programme and dates for the Games were confirmed by the EOC.

A total of 16 sports were included on the programme, with aquatics among the main disciplines to miss out.

It was then decided that the 2019 European Games would run from June 21 to 30.

The Coordination Commission also visited venues due to be used at the Games, such as the Minsk Arena, the Chizhovka Arena, the Dinamo Stadium, Football Manege, the Minsk Sports Palace and the Palova Arena.

The Minsk 2019 Coordination Commission is chaired by Hellenic Olympic Committee head Spyros Capralos, who was chosen for the position in January and performed the same role for Baku 2015.

The Coordination Commission visited Minsk in May ©HOC
The Coordination Commission visited Minsk in May ©HOC

Zlatko Mateša, the former Prime Minister of Croatia and head of the country's National Olympic Committee, is the deputy chairman.

EOC senior sports consultant Pierce O'Callaghan and EOC European Games liaison officer Steve Scott are also on the Commission.

Ukrainian Bubka has previously served on the IOC Coordination Commissions for Beijing 2008 and Rio 2016.

The 53-year-old also chaired the Coordination Commission for the inaugural 2010 Summer Youth Olympics in Singapore and sits on the same body for the 2020 edition of the Winter Youth Olympics in Lausanne.

He chaired the IAAF Coordination Commissions for the 2011 and 2013 World Championships, held in Daegu and Moscow respectively, and was a member of the IAAF Evaluation Commission for the 2015 World Championship in Beijing.

Minsk was confirmed as host of the second Games at the EOC General Assembly in the city last October.

The EOC had been searching for a host city since The Netherlands withdrew on the eve of Baku 2015, with Russia then dropping out of the running after the International Olympic Committee warned they would not support events there following allegations of state-sponsored doping.

The decision to host it in Minsk, though, was not unanimous with Denmark and Norway voting against it while five others, including Great Britain, abstained.

insidethegames has contacted the EOC for clarification on the full list of Coordination Commission members.