Feng Panfeng was among China's winners ©ITTF

China enjoyed a predictably dominant day as the singles titles were decided at the International Table Tennis Federation Asian Para Championships in Taichung.

All of today's winners not only claimed continental glory but also booked their spots at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics.

Chinese Paralympic champions from Rio 2016 were among those to strike gold at the John Paul II Stadium and can now look ahead to playing in the Japanese capital next year.

Feng Pangfeng won the men's class three event by downing compatriot Xiang Zhai 3-0 in the final.

There was also success in the men's class five for Cao Ningning who defeated Chinese Taipei's home hope Ming Chih Cheng 3-0 in their gold medal game.

Zhang Bian won the women's class five, coming through 3-1 against team-mate Jiamin Ping.

In the women's class eight, Mao Jingdian was successful as she got the better of Wenjuan Hang 3-0, while Liu Jing ended undefeated in the women's class one and two round robin to capture that event.

Two Chinese Paralympic champions were to miss out in their finals, however, and must now negotiate another route to Tokyo 2020.

Mao Jingdian also tasted gold medal success for the Chinese  ©ITTF
Mao Jingdian also tasted gold medal success for the Chinese ©ITTF

Zhao Shuai lost in the men's class eight final as he went down to compatriot Weinan Peng, 3-0.

In the women's singles class nine there was defeat for Liu Meng who lost in five to fellow countrywoman Guiyan Xhong.

The men's class seven title went to China's Yan Shuo who beat Katsuyoshi Yagi of Japan 3-1 for gold.

South Korea won gold in the men's class one as Joo Youngdae, a Rio 2016 silver medallist, beat compatriot Kim Hyeonuk 3-2.

Paralympic bronze medallist Rungroj Thainiyom of Thailand won the men's class six with a 3-2 win over Jiaxin Huang of China.

Team competitions will continue tomorrow.