South Africa are aiming to win their fourth successive HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series event ©Getty Images

South Africa are aiming for their fourth successive HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series triumph as the season continues with its second-straight event in Dubai.

The African country has won the last three outings dating back to last season, including last weekend's season opener in Dubai.

They will lead Pool A against Britain, Ireland and Japan.

Last weekend's silver medallists, the United States, will face Australia, Kenya, Canada in Pool B.

Two-time Olympic champions Fiji are in Pool C, with Tokyo 2020 bronze medallists Argentina, France and Spain.

The event will see the return of fans, which the US' USA’s Stephen Tomasin is excited about.

"Last weekend was a great start to the season for us," said Tomasin. 

"We showed that we can take lessons learned from one day and apply them to the next. 

"From here, we have to show consistency and improvement in slight aspects of how we play. 

"There’s no better place to do that than in front of 50,000 roaring fans in Dubai."

In the women's competition, Australia will be hoping to follow up their victory last weekend.

Three of the top-four-placed teams at the Olympics will compete - France, who won silver, bronze medallists Fiji and fourth-placed Britain - although Olympic champions New Zealand will not compete in the men's or women's competitions due to being unable to travel.

The Samoan men's team are also absent due to COVID-19-enforced travel restrictions.

Pool matches take place on Friday (December 3), before the knockout games take place the following day.